Tag Archives: readers advisory

Playing book fairy

(Warning: I’ll be library-nerding hard here, it being a safe space to do so 🙂 ) Oh, the thrill of connecting a reader with just the right book, at just the right time! I particularly enjoy making a literal connection; … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Beyond Read-Alike: A Read-Within

As I’m sure many of us are, I am taking advantage of summer’s looser schedule to fit many more books a week into my reading time than I normally am able to. A delight, of course. But, even more delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Anatomy of an 8th Grade Book Look

I bet you have heard this before: “I don’t have time to come to the library.” In our Middle School, 5th and 6th graders have an Academic Flex period that becomes a class in 7th and 8th grade. This replaces a 45 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Embracing Fanfiction

When talking books with a group of seniors before winter break, one of the girls said, “My friends don’t think that I’m a reader, but I actually read all the time! It’s Fanfiction. They don’t think that counts, but it … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Spicing Up Book Promotion

There is a certain magic that happens when you find just the right book for a patron, isn’t there? For me, it’s that look in their eyes when they pass by in the hall, stopping in their tracks and greeting … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Books: Still A Love of Mine (And Many of Yours!)

In reading the origin stories over the summer, I notice how many of us entered the profession through a love of reading. For Allison Peters Jensen it was Ramona Quimby. Claire Hazzard was a vociferous series reader. For Rivka Genesen, a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 4 Comments