Tag Archives: readers advisory

Let’s give them something to talk about

I want to share with you some really good books that I’ve been reading that you might like to consider for Black History Month, or an all campus read, or maybe you’re looking for a book to anchor your mental … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Playing book fairy

(Warning: I’ll be library-nerding hard here, it being a safe space to do so 🙂 ) Oh, the thrill of connecting a reader with just the right book, at just the right time! I particularly enjoy making a literal connection; … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Beyond Read-Alike: A Read-Within

As I’m sure many of us are, I am taking advantage of summer’s looser schedule to fit many more books a week into my reading time than I normally am able to. A delight, of course. But, even more delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Anatomy of an 8th Grade Book Look

I bet you have heard this before: “I don’t have time to come to the library.” In our Middle School, 5th and 6th graders have an Academic Flex period that becomes a class in 7th and 8th grade. This replaces a 45 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Embracing Fanfiction

When talking books with a group of seniors before winter break, one of the girls said, “My friends don’t think that I’m a reader, but I actually read all the time! It’s Fanfiction. They don’t think that counts, but it … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Spicing Up Book Promotion

There is a certain magic that happens when you find just the right book for a patron, isn’t there? For me, it’s that look in their eyes when they pass by in the hall, stopping in their tracks and greeting … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Books: Still A Love of Mine (And Many of Yours!)

In reading the origin stories over the summer, I notice how many of us entered the profession through a love of reading. For Allison Peters Jensen it was Ramona Quimby. Claire Hazzard was a vociferous series reader. For Rivka Genesen, a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 4 Comments