Tag Archives: pleasure reading

Following Through on Book Clubs, and, Windows & Mirrors

Over the last few years, avid and ambitious readers among the students and staff have pitched their book club desires to me. Naturally I’m game, but as our clubs and organizations already are challenged by finding time to meet I … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 4 Comments

Beyond Read-Alike: A Read-Within

As I’m sure many of us are, I am taking advantage of summer’s looser schedule to fit many more books a week into my reading time than I normally am able to. A delight, of course. But, even more delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Interactive summer reading

I know it’s (only) April, but with just seven weeks of school left, my mind is on the finish line – summer! I don’t want to think about database renewals or cleaning the mess that is the workroom, nor do … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 3 Comments

Anatomy of an 8th Grade Book Look

I bet you have heard this before: “I don’t have time to come to the library.” In our Middle School, 5th and 6th graders have an Academic Flex period that becomes a class in 7th and 8th grade. This replaces a 45 minute … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 5 Comments

Embracing Fanfiction

When talking books with a group of seniors before winter break, one of the girls said, “My friends don’t think that I’m a reader, but I actually read all the time! It’s Fanfiction. They don’t think that counts, but it … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , | 11 Comments

Goodbye Shelfari. Hello Goodreads.

Last weekend when I logged onto the computer, I saw my world crashing down. Hours of labor gone. The blackboard erased. Here’s what I saw. Goodbye, Shelfari and thanks for the last eight years. I’m the first to admit that … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 9 Comments

Books: Still A Love of Mine (And Many of Yours!)

In reading the origin stories over the summer, I notice how many of us entered the profession through a love of reading. For Allison Peters Jensen it was Ramona Quimby. Claire Hazzard was a vociferous series reader. For Rivka Genesen, a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Oh yes, the books!

Do you ever feel so busy juggling your <insert a thousand library related duties here> along with ‘big projects’, faculty meetings, team meetings, committee meetings, collaborative meetings, research lessons, EMAIL, Libguide design, and oh yes, working with students, teaching classes, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , | 14 Comments