Tag Archives: books

Playing book fairy

(Warning: I’ll be library-nerding hard here, it being a safe space to do so 🙂 ) Oh, the thrill of connecting a reader with just the right book, at just the right time! I particularly enjoy making a literal connection; … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | 2 Comments

Beyond Read-Alike: A Read-Within

As I’m sure many of us are, I am taking advantage of summer’s looser schedule to fit many more books a week into my reading time than I normally am able to. A delight, of course. But, even more delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Art Exhibition: Get the Picture! Contemporary Children’s Book Illustration

Over this Labor Day weekend, my family and I ventured out to the Brandywine River Museum of Art to see the exhibit Get the Picture! Contemporary Children’s Book Illustration. This exhibit featured the illustrative work of eight notable picture book … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

An Answer to David Wee’s “I Have No Idea What I Am Doing…”

By CD McLean (Berkeley Preparatory School) Background: This post is my first in a couple of years.  They don’t have a login for me yet, so the top bit says Christina, but don’t blame her if you disagree with anything … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | 1 Comment

A Professional Reading List

In the board survey this spring, there was a request for more book recommendations on the blog. While it’s always fun to think about reading by the beach over the summer, it’s also when we might have more time to … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Books about books…

Our recent AISL survey asked independent school librarians what they liked to read on this blog. A number of respondents replied that they liked to read about BOOKS! And, well, I love to talk about books – especially books ABOUT … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 4 Comments

Spicing Up Book Promotion

There is a certain magic that happens when you find just the right book for a patron, isn’t there? For me, it’s that look in their eyes when they pass by in the hall, stopping in their tracks and greeting … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , , , | 2 Comments

Books: Still A Love of Mine (And Many of Yours!)

In reading the origin stories over the summer, I notice how many of us entered the profession through a love of reading. For Allison Peters Jensen it was Ramona Quimby. Claire Hazzard was a vociferous series reader. For Rivka Genesen, a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | 4 Comments

Celebrating Mother’s Day with Picture Books

As a mother and a Librarian, I used Mother’s Day as a focal point for my classes this week. Rather than read books explicitly about mothers for my youngest students, I chose to focus on books that portray moms in … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged | 2 Comments

ALA Media Awards – Books I love!

In February, I eagerly watched the announcements for the 2015 ALA Youth Media Awards. These awards are a professional highlight and the final selections never cease to surprise me! Though there will always be debate over what makes the final … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment