Category Archives: Uncategorized

Beyond Read-Alike: A Read-Within

As I’m sure many of us are, I am taking advantage of summer’s looser schedule to fit many more books a week into my reading time than I normally am able to. A delight, of course. But, even more delightful … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Prepping For Fall – A Possible Visiting Author

This past year my school hosted Janet B. Taylor for our visiting author. She is a hard working and talented writer and an even better person. She visited four sections of 8th grade history and also taught a writing workshop … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

on the awesomeness summer…

Happy summer, all! I hope that this post finds each of you doing whatever it is that allows you reflect on and appreciate all that is going well in your libraries and in your lives, as well as helping you … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

Weaving Literature into Science: Novel Engineering

“You have been my friend. That in itself is a tremendous thing.  I wove my webs for you because I liked you….By helping you, perhaps I was trying to lift up my life a trifle. Heaven knows anyone’s life can … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

What’s Cookin’?

Summer is a great time to take a break from rushed weeknight dinners and spend some time in the kitchen, with my cookbooks.  I’ve been diving into my cookbook collection to prepare favorite dishes and to try some new recipes. … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Dear Twitter friends, You make me better.

A few nights ago, I was stuck with some serious insomnia. I know I shouldn’t have my phone on in bed, especially if I can’t sleep, but I have a nervous twitch that makes me check my email/Facebook/Instagram/Twitter on a … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | 1 Comment

Using Design Thinking to Re-imagine the Library by Lorrie Culver

I wonder (as I teach the book Wonder to fifth graders during summer school) how many of us independent school librarians work at schools that just don’t seem to know where the library fits within the hierarchy of the school. … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 4 Comments

“We’ll see you soon, mate”

Like you, I’m done. Between the flurry of exams, graduation and end-of-year meetings, my brain is heading into hibernation. It doesn’t help that a ton of my wonderful library nerds graduated this year: However, a few days spent with colleagues, … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

[New Tech] Killed the [Old Tech] Star

Placing myself firmly in the Retro club: image: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Video_Killed_the_Radio_Star; video: https://youtu.be/Iwuy4hHO3YQ Do as I Say, Not as I Do There have been many discussions of the virtues/dangers of tech-enhanced learning (and living).  One of the most interesting players on the field is … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Review: AISL’s First Mentor Program

“I am not a teacher, but an awakener.” ― Robert Frost At the close of the school year, it is important to reflect on the months gone by: the challenging, the good, and the great.  I’ve been reflecting on AISL’s first … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment